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Racing Rules of Sailing

The Call Book for Match Racing, New MR Call L3
A submission from the Chairman of the Racing Rules Committee

Purpose or Objective

To comply with ISAF Regulations 28.3.1, 28.3.2, 28.3.4 and 28.3.7

Proposal
MR CALL L3

Rule 22.1 Starting Errors
Rule 24.2 Interfering with Another Boat

In all the questions Blue has been signaled correctly as being OCS, but nevertheless continued
sailing the course instead of returning and starting correctly.

Question 1

Yellow and Blue are approaching the windward mark. Blue is on port tack and Yellow is on
starboard tack. Yellow bears away below her proper course but never to a downwind course, and
passes to leeward of the mark. Blue tacks to keep clear of Yellow. Yellow tacks and rounds the
mark well ahead of Blue. There is a Y-flag. What should the call be?
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Answer 1

Display the green and white flag.

Blue keeps clear of Yellow as required by rule 10 and Yellow does not break rule 16.1 (MR Call
D6). Blue is neither sailing towards the pre-start side of the starting line to start, nor sailing on
‘another leg' then Yellow, so rules 22.1 and 24.2 do not apply.

Question 2

Both boats round the windward mark and bear away towards the leeward mark. Blue on starboard
tack approaches Yellow on port tack. Both boats are sailing proper courses. Yellow is forced to
gybe away to keep clear of Blue. There is a Y flag. What should the call be?
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Answer 2

Display the green and white flag.

Although Blue has not started correctly and may subsequently be scored OCS, she is sailing the
course with full rights and obligations under the rules. Blue is not sailing towards the starting line in
order to start, so rule 22.1 does not apply.

Question 3

When should boats be considered to be sailing on the same leg?

Answer 3

Boats should be considered to be sailing on the same leg when they are on the same lap and the
umpires are certain that both boats are sailing er-a-cestse to either

- a windward mark,
- a leeward mark, or
- the finish.

This applies when one of them is OCS, and it also applies when they have rounded different marks
in order to get on that leg.
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Current Position

MR Rapid Response Call 2013.02 as above, with one edit.

Reasons

1. To clarify that a boat that is OCS and not returning to start retains her rights relative to other
boats while sailing the course, and that she should be considered to be on the windward leg
while sailing to the windward mark and then on the leeward leg after having rounded the
windward mark. This is supported by ISAF Cases 28, 31, 34 and 65 not mentioning rule 24.2.

2. Further, to clarify that although such boat, for example after rounding a windward mark, may
sail a course that is 'pointing' towards the starting line, she is sailing towards the starting line
to start and therefore is not subject to rule 22.1.

3.  To provide consistent answers to situations that have caused a lot of debate in the match
racing community.




